Skip to main content

Region 9 Winner Announced for 2024 Superintendent of the Year Award

Posted Date: 07/01/2024

Region 9 Winner Announced for 2024 Superintendent of the Year Award

The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) has announced the regional nominees for the prestigious 2024 Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award. We are proud to share that Brad Owen from Burkburnett ISD has been named the winner for Region 9.

The regional winners were selected by committees at each education service center (ESC) after reviewing nominations from their areas. Local school boards, active TASB members, initiate the process by nominating their superintendents, who must also be members of the Texas Association of School Administrators. Each nomination involves a detailed application and an official resolution endorsing their superintendent.

Dan Troxell, TASB executive director, expressed gratitude to the member school boards and ESC committees: “We appreciate the time and effort invested by the school boards in nominating their superintendents and the dedication of the ESCs in selecting the regional winners. Their hard work is vital to the success of the Superintendent of the Year program.”

Brad Owen will advance to the next competition phase in August, where a TASB Board committee will interview the regional winners to select five state finalists. The final round of interviews will determine the SOTY award winner, to be announced at txEDCON, scheduled for Sept. 27-29 in San Antonio.

About TASB

The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. Representing the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state, TASB members oversee districts that serve more than 5.5 million public school students.

Congratulations to Brad Owen for his outstanding leadership and dedication to the students and community of Burkburnett ISD. We are proud to have him represent Region 9!